Aggressive driving is an offense similar to reckless driving. It is a distinct traffic violation in the criminal code in Nevada. Aggressive driving may take the form the form of excessive speeding, tailgating, road rage, reckless driving, or general operating a vehicle in an unsafe way. Drivers who engage in aggressive driving put other road users at risk. It can cause vehicle accidents, bicycle accidents, or even pedestrian accidents.
The Nevada State law describes aggressive driving as when you (the driver) engage in three or more traffic violations within the span of driving 1 mile. Often, you could be engaged in speeding while violating other traffic rules including;
- Failure to obey traffic control devices such as traffic signs and lights
- Passing or overtaking on the right especially by driving off the paved roadway
- Improperly or unsafely driving on a highway with clearly marked lanes
- Failure to yield the right of the way to pedestrians, other drivers, and other road users.
It’s also considered aggressive driving if you create an immediate danger for another vehicle or another person on the road. When the act of aggressive driving endangers other road users by creating an immediate danger, it won’t matter how long you have been engaging in this behavior. It’s criminal, illegal, and dangerous behavior.
Aggressive driving causes accidents
In Nevada, aggressive driving is one of the most common automobiles accidents. There is rarely if ever a justified reason for you to drive recklessly. Often, such drivers act negligently. When their choices and actions cause accidents, the injured parties can seek damages by filing a personal injury lawsuit.
Penalties for aggressive driving
According to Naqvi Injury Law, aggressive driving is a misdemeanor in Nevada. This charge is associated with progressively harsher penalties as the number of your violations increases. Here are the penalties.
- First aggressive driving offense: $250 fine but not more than $1000. Also, you may face a county jail imprisonment for not more than 6 months.
- Second aggressive driving offense: a fine of $1000 to $1500. You could also end up serving up six months imprisonment in county jail.
- Third aggressive driving offense: A fine ranging between $1500 and $2000 and imprisonment of up 6 months in county jail.
Besides, the court may require attendance at Traffic Safety School that has been approved by the state. You will be required to pay all expense associated with the extra learning. If a second, third, or subsequence aggressive driving offense occurs within two years of your previous conviction, the court will suspend your driver’s license for at least one year. In case your driver’s license is already suspended for probably a previous offense, the extra time will be added to your current suspension and run consecutively to the initial suspension.
Given the complexity of this law and the short distance needed for it to be measured, most law enforcement officers charge offenders with reckless driving or other driving infractions upon which the offense of aggressive driving is based.